Yocean Yogi is a brand and may generate affiliate commissions on some pages of this site. More about this.

The Three of Swords Upright: What Does It Mean?

Sharing is caring!

The Three of Swords tarot card represents the grief, turmoil and heartbreak that suddenly arrives at various sections of our life. It’s during these very tough times that we may find forgiveness and surrender.

The Three of Swords Upright Meaning

One minute life can be a wonderful adventure, and the next it feels we just landed after falling off a cliff. Everything feels hard and heavy, yet we might not actually have a reason for it.

The Three of Swords Upright Meaning

This deep and dark part of our lives is often best addressed with professional help. It’s also a chance to rediscover what’s most important for our lives, given that we’re here for a short period of time.

It’s in the depth of such sorrow that we learn just how much we can handle. After all, humans are built for the extreme highs yet can handle the extreme lows too. Just know that there is light at the end of the tunnel.

Card reading

The Three of Swords Upright Tarot is a ‘Yes’ card. Our descriptions are from the Rider Waite cards as always.

The Three of Swords Upright Card Rider Waite

On here is a heart which is savaged by 3 swords. With the dark clouds in the background, we certainly know this isn’t an encouraging position to experience.

Much pain and hurt are felt here. In fact, some psychic readers secretly remove this card when shuffling as the emotions that can arise for a receiver might be too much to handle, whether it’s in-person or virtual card reading.

What can we learn from this? That, while we’re in the depths of sadness, the storms will soon clear. There will be new dawn rising, but this emotional pain may be prolonged. In a love reading, it certainly speaks of losing someone very close to you, either as their body moved to the non-physical or they simply moved on to a new individual whose heart they can break.

Such pain might be inflicted through words and actions of others, or through negative self-talk. Either way, this grief will be difficult to handle and again, you may wish to consider professional services.

Releasing emotions

This is the ultimate tarot card for releasing emotinos. The Three of Swords Upright reminds us that the pain and suffering is a normal (albiet rare) part of our life. It’s something that will develop within ourselves as individuals.

Such hardships will lead to discomfort, yet we can find strength ont he other side. We typically rise stronger and are able to chart a new journey in our lives. Such clarity might then be seen as an opportunity to learn.

It may be time to release some heavy baggage and emotions in your life. Shift your perspectives and energy towards those people who are more compassionate. That may not necessarily be your friends or family.

It also may be a case that such painful times will be prolonged. These sharp blades can run deep which causes us months of losing ourselves in the pain and suffering. Instead of running, we can accept the reality of the situation and then begin the process towards divine healing.

After all, such times in our lives are merely temporary. They arrive suddenly and dissipate slowly, which makes the suffering so much more real. Once you do bounce back, you’ll find a new level of understanding and faith in your world.

Going forward

This process is very challenging to go through on your own. Seek guidance from others and remember that there are many people who can be trusted. There are also many ways to heal your soul.

Accept that this is a normal part of life, while focusing on a more promising future.

Illustrations from the Rider-Waite Tarot Deck® reproduced by permission of U.S. Games Systems, Inc., Stamford, CT 06902 USA.  Copyright ©1971 by U.S. Games Systems, Inc.  Further reproduction prohibited.  The Rider-Waite Tarot Deck® is a registered trademark of U.S. Games Systems, Inc.

Continue The Journey With Yocean Yogi

Animal Totems

The Dove Spirit Animal and Totem Meanings

The dove is one very beautiful spirit animal. If you have encountered one recently in real life or in your dreams, then there is a divine message to learn. If you’re curious, we’ve covered this beautiful animal quite extensively. In

Read More »

7 Best Chakra Books [The Yogi Guide]

Chakra Books are the perfect getaway whether you’re a passionate student or reiki practitioner. We’ve reviewed some of the best chakra books out there. We love our spiritual development as much as the next person. As such, we love reading

Read More »

What is the Baba Nam Kevalam meaning?

Ever wondered what the Baba Nam Kevalam mantra actually means in the world of yoga wisdom? Well, we’ve got the answer right here. The Sanskrit Mantra “Baba Nam Kevalam” means to chant the name of the beloved. As an alternative

Read More »

? 5 Signs That You've Experienced A Past Life Dream (#4 Is Interesting...)

? Yoga Etiquette For Your First Yoga Class (We Know It's A Tad Awkward)

? 7 Best Chakra Books For Beginners (Which One Have You Read?)

??‍♀️ Vinyasa vs Hatha Yoga (A Guide For Those Starting Out Fresh)

? 23 Best Podcasts You Need To Listen To (An Hour of Melting)